Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Problems with Smarty under Windows and Apache

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
smartt
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:49 am    Post subject: Problems with Smarty under Windows and Apache Reply with quote

Hi,

i try to set up Smarty on Windows using Apache 1.3. I`m just developing under windows, the productive system will be some unix system.

d:\htdocs is my document root.
d:\htdocs\smartytest is the folder everything is in (my index.php e.g.)
d:\htdocs\smartytest\smarty is the folder smarty is in (Smarty.class.php, the template directory and so on)

now i tried to set smarty up like described in the faqs. my index.php looks as follows:

<?
define("SMARTY_DIR","D:\\htdocs\\smartytest\\smarty\\");
require(SMARTY_DIR."Smarty.class.php");
$smarty = new Smarty;
$smarty->template_dir = "D:\\htdocs\\smartytest\\smarty\\templates";
$smarty->compile_dir = "D:\\htdocs\\smartytest\\smarty\\templates_c";
$smarty->config_dir = "D:\\htdocs\\smartytest\\smarty\\configs";

$smarty->assign("$name", "Charles");
$smarty->display("index.tpl");
?>

if i run index.php i get the following error:

Warning: Smarty error: unable to read template resource: "index.tpl" in D:\htdocs\smartytest\smarty\Smarty.class.php on line 1042

Whats the problem? I also like to mention, that i like to have the smartyfiles in document root, because most hosters only give you a single directory in the document root where all your files lie in.

thanks for any hints, Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smartt
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just discovered that:

echo $smarty->template_dir

shows:

templates

although i assigned
$smarty->template_dir = "D:\\htdocs\\smartytest\\smarty\\templates";
before! Why doesnīt work this?

regards, Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is the above really a carbon-copy of your test code? maybe you accidently do a second "$smarty = new Smarty;" somewhere that resets your $smarty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
smartt
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes you are right, i mistakely made a second instance of the smarty class. i really didnīt see that!

thank you for your help!

Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP