Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

{section} to {foreach}

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
desean84
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:31 am    Post subject: {section} to {foreach} Reply with quote

hi, i'm still new to smarty so i hope to receive some help with the problem below:

how do i change the following {section} into {foreach}?

Code:
{section name=outer loop=$row}
<tr>

{section name=inner loop=$row[outer]}

<td>{$row[outer][inner]}</td>

{/section}

</tr>
{/section}


$row is an assoc. array in the form of $row[number][alpha]. i've been trying hard to change but none of what i tried works. Crying or Very sad

also, i don't quite understand the usage of item attribute of foreach... can someone explain it to me more in-depth?

i also understand that the limitation of foreach is that it can only be used for a single array... what does that means?

thanks in advance for your reply as it means alot to me Wink
_________________
Dragons Online!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 12:04 pm    Post subject: Re: {section} to {foreach} Reply with quote

desean84 wrote:

also, i don't quite understand the usage of item attribute of foreach... can someone explain it to me more in-depth?


do you know php's foreach? ( http://php.net/manual/en/control-structures.foreach.php )

this php-foreach-loop:
[php:1:91e45f8f65]foreach ($array as $name=>$value) { echo $value; }[/php:1:91e45f8f65]
is comparable to this smarty-foreach-loop
Code:
{foreach from=$array key=name item=value} {$value} {/foreach}

( "item=value" makes $value being updated on each iteration)

Quote:
i also understand that the limitation of foreach is that it can only be used for a single array... what does that means?


me either. i think people saying this, mean, that you can do this with sections:
Code:

{section name=foo from=$array}
var1: {$array[foo]}
var2: {$another_array[foo]}
{/section

(funky, not? ) but not with foreach.

but with foreach's "key"-attribute you get a comparable option:
Code:

{foreach name=foo from=$array key=i item=not_used_but_required}
var1: {$array.$i}
var2: {$another_array.$i}
{/foreach}



to me {foreach} is far more intuitive than {section}, but maybe this is because i knew php's foreach far earlier than the existence of smarty Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
desean84
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your explanation messju!

i managed to solved my problem after reading it... thanks man!

in case anybody wants to know, it is:

Code:
{foreach from=$row key=number_row item=number}
<tr>

{foreach from=$number key=assoc_array item=value}
<td>{$value}</td>
{/foreach}

</tr>
{/foreach}

_________________
Dragons Online!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP