Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

use of 'key' in a foreach loop?

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gawan
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 9:43 pm    Post subject: use of 'key' in a foreach loop? Reply with quote

I don't quote get it where I should (or could) use the 'key' parameter in a foreach loop. Most of the time it makes no difference if I leave it out (I am looping mainly through arrays from a database). Can someone clarify this to me, please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you don't need it, don't declare it. "from" and "item" are mandatory, but "key" is optional.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Associative arrays have two portions for each element in the array: 1) the unique key (name, if you wish) of the element and 2) the item that the element is representing. Smarty allows you to refer to either (or both) portions by using the appropriate item/key parameters of {foreach}.

As a simple example, if you have an associative array like:
[php:1:da4f971ecc]<?php
$smarty->assign('test', array('el1' => 'element 1'));
?>[/php:1:da4f971ecc]
with template code like:
Code:
{foreach from=$test item=i key=k}
  {$i}
{/foreach}


your resulting output would be element1.

Whereas the template code:
Code:
{foreach from=$test item=i key=k}
  {$k} : {$i}
{/foreach}

produces el1 : element1.

The key is optional for the cases where you don't care about the associated key value for the current item.

An array doesn't need to be strictly associative to be used with {foreach}. For example, if you want to iterate an array of lines from a file, then only the element portion of each item is relevant and you can omit the key portion.
[php:1:da4f971ecc]<?php
$smarty->assign('test', file('some.text.file'));
?>[/php:1:da4f971ecc]
with template code like:
Code:
{foreach from=$test item=line}
  {$line}<br/>
{/foreach}

as you should expect, you will end up with a reproduction of your text file.

If you are still uncertain, you may want to review the section on arrays in the PHP manual.

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gawan
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you boots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP