Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Q about plugins and functions

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cptnemo
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 1:33 pm    Post subject: Q about plugins and functions Reply with quote

Hey y'all

I'm writing my own modifier, let's call it foo.
So, somewhere I register that modifier (of course before displaying, and assume that $this is a Smarty object):
Quote:
$this->register_modifier( 'foo', 'func_foo' );


In my template I have something like this:
Quote:
<{$item->bar|upper|foo}>


And, in my SMARTY_DIR/plugins, I have a file called modifier.func_foo.php:
Quote:
function func_foo( $params, $content, &$smarty, &$repeat ) {
echo "f_called";
}


However, I keep on getting this error:
Quote:
Fatal error: Smarty error: [in test.tpl line x]: [plugin] modifier 'foo'is not implemented (smarty.class.php, line 2462) in /usr/some/dir on line 2652
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you'r mixing two ways here:

you can a) register the modifier explicitely:

function func_foo() { ... }
$this->register('foo', 'func_foo');
[note the function has to be declared or included by yourself]

or you can b) autoload the modifier:

no register-call at all, simply put modifer.[name].php in plugins dir.
the function in it *has to* be named smarty_modifier_[name] then.

but you can not declare it explicitely and make smarty it autoload then.

HTH
messju
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cptnemo
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, thanks for the swift reply.

Mm'kay, pre/post/outputfilters have to be explicitly loaded, but modifiers not. Okay, got that.

Got it working though, by auto-loading the file modifier.foo.php, with a function called smarty_modifier_foo in it.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

modifiers are loaded as soon as they are used in a template.

filters can be announced in $smarty->auto_load_filters and then are loaded on demand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP