Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Smarty errorl unable to read template resource
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Häakon.

Wow, I must say, that sure does look correct!

I'm assuming you are using 2.5.0 and that you are using PHP as an Apache mod. When you created the templates_c and cache directories (you already said that you made no spelling errors, so I assume that your code matches your exact dir structure) did you change the ownerships appropriately for the user that your webserver process uses to access those files?

The most telling piece of evidence is the error message you posted:

Quote:
Warning: unable to create file /^home^showchoir^smarty^schools^templates^index.tpl because Permission denied in /home/virtual/site122/fst/var/www/html/require/Smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1575


As you already figured out, this really does mean that you have a directory configuration issue as far as Smarty is concerned. As a test, try setting them to 777 and see if that doesn't work. Obviously, that is not suitable for a final solution, but....

As a humourous aside, having HTML code embedded in your PHP file goes against the principal of separation that Smarty is trying to foster. I'm sure that would be far clearer if Smarty would actually work for you Smile.

ps. I like your handle--it reminds me of a hockey player (and the hacking reference is cool)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Häakon
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 18
Location: San Diego, California

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes to the 2.5.0 and the Apache mod.

I'll tell you right now that I purchase web hosting space from a company (as I'm sure a lot of people do), but I'm not running this on my home computer or anything, so my "ownership" controls are limited. I have the capacity to CHMOD files through my FTP client, but I can't change "owners." When I created the directories, they're apparently owned by "showchoir" (my user). I called up their tech support, who have been very good at handling problems, and he said that only root is allowed to change the owners, and with a buch of different clients on their server, obviously I'm not going to be given that access. He did, however, change ownership of the directories to "nobody." (He did this to only "cache" and "templates_c" at first, and when that had no effect, he did it to the other two just in case).

I will admit that I am quite new to PHP so I'm not trying to sound like the pestering newbie, but I do think I've followed the instructions just as they are written and I'm not sure how to get around this one. If you'd like, I can give you access to my server and you can take a look around to see if there's something I've done wrong... but at this point I'm just pulling my hair out!

As for the HTML code embedded in my PHP file... I guess that's why I'm over here trying to get Smarty to run in the first place. I was having a problem with a php file I made, and I went on IRC to get some help... and they just laughed at me and said I should be using Smarty. So here I am. Smile Except I can't get this damn thing working either. Neutral

My name is Häakon, actually... so it's not a hacking reference or shout out to a hockey player - intentionally, anyway. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
atpower
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atpower
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just fixed the problem by omit the define of $template_dir and $compile_dir and etc. Additionally I set up Dirs like <templates> and <templates_c> as default ,then copy *.tpl to <templates> ,it works! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mOsEz
Smarty n00b


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Geesthacht, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi... i am new at using smarty and i have got the same problem...

my failure message:
Code:
Warning: file_exists() [function.file-exists]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/%%117/%%1172603085/index.tpl.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/www/htdocs/v081952/) in /www/htdocs/v081952/libs/Smarty.class.php on line 1520

Warning: Smarty error: unable to read template resource: "index.tpl" in /www/htdocs/v081952/libs/Smarty.class.php on line 1042


and this is my index.php:
Code:
<?php
require('/www/htdocs/v081952/libs/Smarty.class.php');

$smarty = new Smarty;

$smarty->template_dir = ('/www/htdocs/v081952/libs/test/templates/');
$smarty->compile_dir = ('/www/htdocs/v081952/libs/test/templates_c/');
$smarty->config_dir = ('/www/htdocs/v081952/libs/test/configs/');
$smarty->cache_dir = ('/www/htdocs/v081952/libs/test/cache/');

$smarty->assign('name','Ned');

$smarty->display('index.tpl');
?>


and my index.tpl:
Code:
{* Smarty *}

Hallo, {$name}!


the files are at the place where the path shows...

for testing i has set the chmod for every directory to 777 and it doesnt work

i dont know what is wrong, please help me!

p.s. sorry for my bad english...
Rolling Eyes
_________________
greetz mOsEz


Last edited by mOsEz on Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mOsEz
Smarty n00b


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Geesthacht, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the example is at:

http://www.mosez.net/test
_________________
greetz mOsEz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Häakon
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 18
Location: San Diego, California

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

atpower wrote:
I have just fixed the problem by omit the define of $template_dir and $compile_dir and etc. Additionally I set up Dirs like <templates> and <templates_c> as default ,then copy *.tpl to <templates> ,it works! Laughing


Would you mind explaining this a little further? I've been working on this for a month now, and I still can't even install it... Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Haakon.

I know you are still looking for some tips, though to be honest, I'm getting a bit thin on suggestions. What happens if you do this:
Code:
$smarty->display('index.tpl');

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Häakon
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 18
Location: San Diego, California

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the single error:

Warning: Smarty error: unable to read template resource: "index.tpl" in /home/virtual/site122/fst/var/www/html/require/Smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1042
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Häakon wrote:
I get the single error:

Warning: Smarty error: unable to read template resource: "index.tpl" in /home/virtual/site122/fst/var/www/html/require/Smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1042


Now that shouldn't be. Your template should be locatable via your line:
[php:1:86db0d63fd]$smarty->template_dir = '/home/showchoir/smarty/schools/templates';[/php:1:86db0d63fd]

and I would expect your index.tpl to be located in /home/showchoir/smarty/schools/templates.

I notice that you are using PHP 4.06. I take it that it is supported, by it is a bit dated and since I'm grasping at straws--is there any chance it can be upgraded? Does anyone have any ideas for Haakon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By-the-way, haakon, are any files being written to your /home/showchoir/smarty/schools/templates directory? If not, then perhaps your host doesn't permit write access to directories (except by ftp, perhaps?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Häakon
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 18
Location: San Diego, California

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to let you know (in case anyone was still trying to figure this out), I finally gave up and switched webhosts. I installed smarty on my new host and it works just fine. I went back to the old host (which is still active, for the time being) and I still have no idea what's wrong with it. I retraced my steps completely and can't figure it out. So, the end of this is that I never got it to work on my original host, but it is working now on my new one. I hate it when I can't figure out the reasons why things don't work, but at least I have a functional version... and at this point, that's all I really care about. Thanks to everyone who tried to provide assitance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
wingoffire
Smarty n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 10:47 am    Post subject: Oh~~I got the same problem in my code Reply with quote

I do some think like document said,but I got the problem above
I'm under WindowsXp Apache with php module install~~

here is my code and the file position
d:\newtorock\classes\userTemplate.php
Quote:

// TARZAN_ROOT_PATH is "d:/newtorock"
class UserTemplate extends Smarty {
function UserTemplate(){
$this->Smarty();
$this->template_dir = TARZAN_ROOT_PATH.'/templates/user/';
$this->compile_dir = TARZAN_ROOT_PATH.'/templates_c/user/';
$this->config_dir = TARZAN_ROOT_PATH.'/configs/user/';
$this->cache_dir = TARZAN_ROOT_PATH.'/cache/user/';
$this->caching = true;
}
}


templat file: d:\newtorock\templates\user\userInfo.tpl
Quote:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

<html>
<head>
<title>{$user->getUserName()}</title>
</head>
<body>
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" summary="">
<tr>
<td>userName:{$user->getUserName()}</td>
<td>userNo:{$user->getUserNo()}</td>
<td>password:{$user->getPassword()}</td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>


testfile: d:\newtorock\test.php if I wrote it like below ,Smarty wroks good!
Quote:

//..................get $user object....................
$tpl = new Smarty();
$tpl->template_dir=TARZAN_ROOT_PATH."/templates/user/";
$tpl->assign('user',$user);
$tpl->display("userInfo.tpl");

but if I wrote in another way ...
Quote:

//..................get $user object....................
$tpl = new UserTemplate();
$tpl->assign('user',$user);
$tpl->display("userInfo.tpl");


the error is
Quote:

Warning: Failed opening '\%%433\%%433950399\userInfo.tpl.php' for inclusion (include_path='.;c:\php4\pear') in d:\newTorock\libs\Smarty.class.php on line 1164

and sometime it will become

Warning: Smarty error: unable to read template resource: "index.tpl" in d:\newTorock\libs\Smarty.class.php on line 1042




My PHP is 4.3.3RC


anyone can help me? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Orestis
Smarty n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 8:54 am    Post subject: unable to read ... bla bla Reply with quote

Hi @ all
got the same prob and solved it!!!

Smarty version 2.5.0

Line 52:
[php:1:c319a4d53f]define('DIR_SEP', DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR);[/php:1:c319a4d53f]

Define in your php-script this DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR
[php:1:c319a4d53f]define('SMARTY_DIR', "/home/php/public/smarty/");
define('DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR', "/");
require(SMARTY_DIR."Smarty.class.php");
$smarty = new Smarty;[/php:1:c319a4d53f]

and it will work Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP