Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Rename Variable value

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Tips and Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tonata
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 11:03 am    Post subject: Rename Variable value Reply with quote

Hi all,
Im quite new to using Smarty, I want to rename or modify variable content..

Here's the deal, I am dynamically displaying images from the DB, i display thumbnails and on click of the thumbnail i want it to display the bigger version of that image.

I have a naming conversion for my images, for example:
Code:

//GAL_17_1_Lighthouse --> small/thumbnail image for lighthouse
//GAL_17_2_Lighthouse --> big image  for lighthouse


notice that the last number changes, 1 for small, and 2 for a bigger version of that image... hope its clear there..

in the DB i only store the name of the thumbnail, so in my PHP file I select the name of the image
Code:

$sql=SELECT image_name
        FROM images_table;

//execute my SQL statement
$image = sqlExecute($connection, $sql, $sqlError, $sqlCount, basename(__FILE__), DEBUG);

$tmplEngine->assign(
    array(
        'thumbnails'              => $image,
  )
);


and then in my HTM file i display the thumbnail
Code:

{section name=list loop=$thumbnails}
<tr >
   <td><a href="images/{$thumbnails[list].image_name}" rel="enlargeimage" rev="targetdiv:loadarea2,trigger:click,preload:none,fx:reveal"><img src="images/{$thumbnails[list].image_name}"></a><br /></td>

</tr>
{/section}


The above code displays thumbnails as links, on click of a thumbnail it displays a thumbnail again of that image, but that is not what i want, i want it to display the bigger version, by simply modifying the HREF attribute. Is there a way to modify the value for {$thumbnails[list].image_name}? If it is not possible, can you please give me a few tips on how i can achieve this dynamically... Thank you in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
U.Tews
Administrator


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 5068
Location: Hamburg / Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at the replace modifer. See http://www.smarty.net/manual/en/language.modifier.replace.php

You could use it to replace '_1_' with '_2_'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not to dodge the question, but there is a better way to handle your situation. In PHP when you select the image name from the db, supply both the thumbnail and large image filenames in an array (or as separate variable names.) Then the template can just display the correct filename and not deal with filename assembly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Tips and Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP