Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Problems passing Varibles

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bkatsma
Smarty n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:09 pm    Post subject: Problems passing Varibles Reply with quote

For some reason I am having problems getting a varible to pass correctly into my smarty template.


[php:1:23c02a6cda]<?php
php code:

//Create an array of main category ids
while(list($cid) = $xoopsDB->fetchRow($maincatids))
{
$tid = $myts->makeTboxData4Show($cid);

//Set max counter to count how many subcategories for array. This will tell us when we hit the last item
$max = 0;

//query DB for Main categories and ids
$maincat = $xoopsDB->query("SELECT cid, title FROM xlts_vnd_cat WHERE pid = 0 and cid = $tid");

//*********************MAIN CATEGORIES**********************
//create an array for Main categories and assign them to the template
while(list($cid, $title) = $xoopsDB->fetchRow($maincat))
{
$mcid = $myts->makeTboxData4Show($cid);
$mtitle = $myts->makeTboxData4Show($title);
$xoopsTpl->append('tid', array('tid' => $tid));
$xoopsTpl->append('maincats', array('cid' => $cid, 'title' => $title));

//*********************SUB CATEGORIES**********************
//create an array for Sub categories and assign them to the template
$subcat = $xoopsDB->query("SELECT cid, title FROM xlts_vnd_cat WHERE pid = $cid");

while(list($cid, $title) = $xoopsDB->fetchRow($subcat))
{
$cid = $myts->makeTboxData4Show($cid);
$title = $myts->makeTboxData4Show($title);
$xoopsTpl->append("$mtitle" , array('cid' => $cid, 'title' => $title));
$max ++;
}//End main Sub Categories
}//End main Categories
}//End main Category id's
?>[/php:1:23c02a6cda]

I am creating an array foreach mancategory.

There arrays are as follows:
Code:

Arrays created:

{$CAD Systems} Array (4)
      0 => Array (2)
        cid => 12
        title => CATIA
      1 => Array (2)
        cid => 13
        title => SDRC
      2 => Array (2)
        cid => 14
        title => Unigrapics
      3 => Array (2)
        cid => 16
        title => PDGS
{$Data Formats} Array (4)
      0 => Array (2)
        cid => 15
        title => IGES
      1 => Array (2)
        cid => 17
        title => STEP
      2 => Array (2)
        cid => 18
        title => PARTPP
      3 => Array (2)
        cid => 19
        title => CATIA Export
{$Data Package/Compression} Array (4)
      0 => Array (2)
        cid => 25
        title => PK ZIP
      1 => Array (2)
        cid => 26
        title => UNIX Compress
      2 => Array (2)
        cid => 27
        title => TAR
      3 => Array (2)
        cid => 28
        title => GZIP
{$Media Type} Array (5)
      0 => Array (2)
          cid => 20
          title => 4 mm Tape
      1 => Array (2)
          cid => 21
         title => 8 mm Tape
      2 => Array (2)
          cid => 22
          title => 3 1/2&quot; Floppy
      3 => Array (2)
        cid => 23
        title => CDROM
      4 => Array (2)
        cid => 24
        title => FTP

{$maincats} Array (4)
      0 => Array (2)
        cid => 8
        title => CAD Systems
      1 => Array (2)
        cid => 9
        title => Data Formats
      2 => Array (2)
        cid => 10
        title => Media Type
      3 => Array (2)
        cid => 11
        title => Data Package/Compression


{$tid} Array (4)
      0 => Array (1)
        tid => 8
      1 => Array (1)
        tid => 9
      2 => Array (1)
        tid => 10
      3 => Array (1)
        tid => 11


Template is as follows:


Code:

<{section name=j loop=$maincats}>
   
   <!--Start new link loop -->
   <tr class=head>
      <td colspan = "6" width="100%"><b><{$maincats[j].title}></b></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>   
    <{section name=i loop=9}>
      <{assign var=pre value=$maincats[j].title}>
      <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="<{$maincats[j].title}>[]" value = "<{$tid[i].tid}>" </td>
         <{if $max == $count}>
            <{if $count % 3 == 1}>
               <td width = "33%" colspan = "5" class='even' ><{$pre.title}></td>
            <{elseif $count % 3 == 2}>
               <td width = "33%" colspan = "3" class='even' ><{$pre.title}></td>
            <{else}>
               <td width = "33%" class='even' ><{$pre.title}></td>
            <{/if}>
         <{else}>
            <td width = "33%" class='even' ><{$pre.title}></td>
         <{/if}>
      <{if $smarty.section.i.rownum is div by 3}>
         </tr><tr>
      <{/if}>
      <{/section}>
   
   <{/section}>
   <!--End new link loop -->


Which creates this HTML

Code:


   <!--Start new link loop -->
   <tr class=head>
      <td colspan = "6" width="100%"><b>CAD Systems</b></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>   
                <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "8" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "9" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "10" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "11" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="CAD Systems[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >C</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
               
      
   <!--Start new link loop -->
   <tr class=head>
      <td colspan = "6" width="100%"><b>Data Formats</b></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>   
                <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "8" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "9" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "10" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "11" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Formats[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
               
      
   <!--Start new link loop -->
   <tr class=head>
      <td colspan = "6" width="100%"><b>Media Type</b></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>   
                <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "8" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "9" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "10" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "11" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Media Type[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >M</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
               
      
   <!--Start new link loop -->
   <tr class=head>
      <td colspan = "6" width="100%"><b>Data Package/Compression</b></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>   
                <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "8" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "9" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "10" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "11" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
                        <td  class='even' ><input type="checkbox" name="Data Package/Compression[]" value = "" </td>
                                    <td width = "33%" class='even' >D</td>
                     
               </tr><tr>
               
      <!--End new link loop -->



For come reason the result of my Varible in smarty is producing the first character.

This line display's correctly
"<td colspan = "6" width="100%"><b><{$maincats[j].title}></b></td>"

But this one does not
<{assign var=pre value=$maincats[j].title}>
It appears it is only grabing the first character.

Note this code worked once!!


Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
that_guy_gomer
Smarty n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 3:48 am    Post subject: Me too Reply with quote

I have the exact same thing happeneing to me, except I chose to use foreach loops, but problem is the same. I am getting the first character of each value, instead of the entire value.

Here is my php:
Code:
foreach ($rss->getItems() as $item) {
   $smarty->append("feed",array("link"=>$item['link'],
                                "title"=>$item['title'],
                                "desc"=>$item['description']));
}


Here is the template:
Code:
{foreach name=outer item=content from=$feed }
   {foreach item=item from=$content}
 <tr bgcolor="{cycle values="#eeeeee,#d0d0d0"}">
  <td><a href="{$item.link}">{$item.title}</a></td>
 </tr>
 <tr>
  <td>{$item.desc}</td>
 </tr>
    {/foreach}
{foreachelse}


It's the strangest thing. I thought that I did everything correctly, yet I only get the first characters in each variable.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that_guy_gomer: you want to use $content.title not $item.title. $item is a string in your example, not an array.

bkatsma: i'm sure in your example the problem is the same somewhere.

if you access a string like $string.foo you get the first character. actually you get the nth character, but n is "foo" which is zero when casted to an integer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
that_guy_gomer
Smarty n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much. That was driving me nuts. I'm still not 100% clear why that's the case. I might have missed it in the documentation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's a side effect of php. smarty translates variables {$foo.bar} to php-code like "$foo['bar']" .
smarty does not (and can not check) check during translation if $foo is an array.
if $foo is an array everything is fine.
if $foo is a string php uses the value inside the [] as an index n and returns the nth character of the string. 'bar' is casted to zero, so it's $foo[0] for php, and that's the first character in the string $foo.

BTW don't use the $foo[$i] notation for strings in you php-code, yourself. it's disencouraged and $foo{$i} should be used to access a string char by char. a string is not an array in php! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP