Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Smarty Error: the $compile_dir '..' does not exist...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
queen
Smarty n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:42 am    Post subject: Instalation and setup Reply with quote

This is what seems to be happening to me. I'm using windows with apache/php/mysql. I've had no real issues getting smarty going on linux and mac os x, however, we're pulling our hair out. It should be noted that we aren't windows people, but have opened up permissions on the directories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brusley
Smarty n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:03 am    Post subject: Instalation and setup Reply with quote

This is what seems to be happening to me. I'm using windows with apache/php/mysql. I've had no real issues getting smarty going on linux and mac os x, however, we're pulling our hair out. It should be noted that we aren't windows people, but have opened up permissions on the directories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tong
Smarty n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:18 am    Post subject: Instalation and setup Reply with quote

you can verify that this is setup properly: create a php script to write a file into the directory you specified for templates_c (and/or cache). This should always work if the directory is writable by the script owner. The trick is to then try to read that file from your php script -- safe mode restricts reads, not writes. If that throws an error, you have a permission settings issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fillcraft
Smarty n00b


Joined: 03 Oct 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, what user is apache using by default? Was won created during apache install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vlad277qipru
Smarty n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used the quick manual below, but I copied Smarty/ into public_html/ not into php/
http://www.smarty.net/quick_install

URL: http://boromax.net23.net//Smarty/docs/myapp/

Quote:

Warning: require() [function.require]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/usr/local/apache/htdocs/Smarty/libs/Smarty.class.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/:/usr/lib/php:/tmp) in /home/a5993328/public_html/Smarty/docs/myapp/index.php on line 5


index.php:
[code=nocolor]
<?php

// put full path to Smarty.class.php
echo($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'].'/Smarty/libs/Smarty.class.php');
require($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'].'/Smarty/libs/Smarty.class.php');
$smarty = new Smarty();

$smarty->setTemplateDir('Smarty/templates');
$smarty->setCompileDir('Smarty/templates_c');
$smarty->setCacheDir('Smarty/cache');
$smarty->setConfigDir('Smarty/configs');

$smarty->assign('name', 'Ned');
$smarty->display('index.tpl');

?>

[/code]
I use a free hosting 000webhost.

What is wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The warning tells you exactly what is wrong. Maybe read up on open_basedir in PHP, or disable it.

http://us2.php.net/manual/en/ini.core.php#ini.open-basedir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
indy80s
Smarty n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed compile_dir permissions to 777 and works.
for security we can change the name of the dir to the fancy one like smartycompile9a6dbdy

cheers
_________________
Always for hire. Freelance till die Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hakq12
Smarty n00b


Joined: 21 May 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 10:09 am    Post subject: reply Reply with quote

im getting the same error too how do i solve it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
U.Tews
Administrator


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 5068
Location: Hamburg / Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you created the working directories withe the right permissions

If you are using Smarty 3 you can run
Code:
$smarty->testInstall();
to check your installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP