Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Accessing Smarty 3 Instance

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Tips and Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:01 pm    Post subject: Accessing Smarty 3 Instance Reply with quote

It is often helpful to access the Smarty object from anywhere in your code. Although you could use a global variable, globals are not adequate for larger projects. The singleton pattern ensures that there is one and only one instance of the object available.

Implementation is quite trivial, just add one static method to your extended Smarty class:

Code:
<?php

require('Smarty.class.php');

class MySmarty extends Smarty
{
  public static function getInstance($newInstance = null)
  {
    static $instance = null;
    if(isset($newInstance))
      $instance = $newInstance;
    if ( $instance == null )
      $instance = new MySmarty();
    return $instance;
  }

  public function __construct()
  {
    parent::__construct();
    // initialize smarty here
  }
}

?>


To obtain an instance of the class:

Code:
// initialize smarty object
$smarty = MySmarty::getInstance();
// now obtain same object from anywhere
$smarty = MySmarty::getInstance();


The first time this is called a new instance will be created. Thereafter, the same instance is handed back. You can also set the instance manually:

Code:
// create new smarty object
$smarty = new MySmarty();
// set the instance object
MySmarty::getInstance($smarty);
// now obtain same object from anywhere
$smarty = MySmarty::getInstance();
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SammyDC
Smarty n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks this is helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koenpunt
Smarty n00b


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Creating the static property $instance outside of your function call is probably better?

Code:

<?php

require('Smarty.class.php');

class MySmarty extends Smarty
{
  static $instance = null;

  public static function getInstance($newInstance = null)
  {
    if( !is_null($newInstance) )
      self::$instance = $newInstance;
    if ( is_null(self::$instance) )
      self::$instance = new MySmarty();
    return self::$instance;
  }

  public function __construct()
  {
    parent::__construct();
    // initialize smarty here
  }
}

?>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Tips and Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP