Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Compare evaluates wrong within IF statement

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
litronics
Smarty n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:09 am    Post subject: Compare evaluates wrong within IF statement Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am running a smiple IF statment as follows:
Code:

{if a > b}
     do something
{/}


If I assign a=99.99 and b=78.90 --> do something is executed

If I assign a=149.99 and b=78.90 --> do something is NOT executed

The question now is - am I understood something wrong or is there an issue doing a compare within my smarty implementation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnrDaemon
Administrator


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 1785

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please provide a working code sample.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
litronics
Smarty n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@AnrDaemon

no problem - the code used in my shop system is as follows:

Code:

{if $sArticle.pseudoprice > $sArticle.price}
    <div>old price: {$sArticle.pseudoprice}</div>
{/if}


Both $sArticle variables are populated based on values within a MySql database from my shop system.
I get different results based on the following values:

Quote:
$sArticle.pseudoprice = 99,99
$sArticle.price = 78,90

old price is shown


and if I set these values:

Quote:
$sArticle.pseudoprice = 149,99
$sArticle.price = 78,90

old price is NOT shown


I also have verified the value of both variables by printing them directly on the screen - and they are populated exactly as shown above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnrDaemon
Administrator


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 1785

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. WORKING code example. I can't run your template without having the PHP code invoking it. I could probably fake it but I'll never know, if my guess was matching your actual environment.
2. Are these variables actual numbers or formatted strings, when they hit the template? (The latter is quite common for prices to avoid '.999999999 cents' syndrome.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
litronics
Smarty n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@AnrDaemon:

thanks for the hint!
I was not assuming that the shop system might store integers as strings.

Finally I changed my compare as follows:
Code:
 {if (int) $sArticle.pseudoprice > (int) $sArticle.price}


And it works now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnrDaemon
Administrator


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 1785

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do note that it would only work if prices are different in integer range.
Code:
$ cat test.php; ./test.php
<?php

$x = (int) "2,2" > (int) "2,1";
var_dump($x);

bool(false)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP