Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Using html_options and section

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Aristotle
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 4:30 am    Post subject: Using html_options and section Reply with quote

I'm trying to use html options and section to allow users to edit an article that they post (like in a CMS). The articles are organized into categories, and I want the category they article in to be auto-selected when the user tries to edit it.

Code:

{section name="j" loop=$news}
         <form action="post.php?mode=news" method="post">   
            <table>
               <tr>
                  <td>Category:&&</td>
                  <td><select name="cat">{html_options values=$cat_ids output=$cat_names selected=$news[j].cat_id}</select><br /></td>
               </tr>
               <tr>
                  <td>Title:&&</td>
                  <td><input type="text" name="title" value="{$news[j].title}" /><br /></td>
               </tr>
               <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Short Description:&&</td>
                  <td><textarea rows="7" cols="30" name="description">{$news[j].description}</textarea><br /></td>
               </tr>
               <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Message:&&</td>
                  <td><textarea rows="7" cols="30" name="text">{$news[j].text}</textarea><br /></td>
               </tr>
               <tr>
                  <td>&&</td>
                  <td><input type="hidden" name="id" value="{$news[j].id}" /><input type="submit" name="submit" value="Post!" /><br /></td>
               </tr>
            </table>
         </form>
         {/section}


Above is the Smarty template code for the section that displays the article edit form. The html_options function is generating a category list, with the category names as the output and the category ids as the values. The section loop is filling the form with the data from the article that is being edited. I can't figure out why the "selected" attribute of html_options is not working; the only reason I can see is that the variable that controlls it is coming from the {section}. I am quite sure that this should work because I have seen it in an O'Reilly tutorial.

Help!
_________________
Aristotle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the generated HTML correct? Perhaps this thread is related?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aristotle
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the same result in both Mozilla and IE. Here's the HTML generated by Smarty:

Code:

<select name="cat"><option label="General" value="1">General</option>
<option label="News and Announcements" value="2">News and Announcements</option>
<option label="Stories" value="3">Stories</option>
<option label="Weblog" value="4">Weblog</option>
</select>


Obviously, though the "News and Announcements" category should be selected, Smarty is not even printing the 'selected="selected"' bit. I think this has something to do with the fact that I am using an array variable from the {section} funtion instead of a regular string, but it should still work.
_________________
Aristotle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to all come down to the value of $news[j].cat_id.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aristotle
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yay! It works now! There was an inconsistency in one of my functions that was causing "cat_id" to not be assigned. Thanks!
_________________
Aristotle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP