Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

smarty produces blank page

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deflator mouse
Smarty n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 2:56 am    Post subject: smarty produces blank page Reply with quote

I've installed smarty, used the demo script included after changing my path, and all i get is a blank screen.

ive tried changing my path to the absolute path, and tried putting the demo in the same dir as the class and simply including the class. but all i get is a blank page. error_reporting is enabled on my server and i tried putting 'error_reporting(E_ALL); ' in my script but nothing happened.

any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, post your code Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deflator mouse
Smarty n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, heres the script i tried, its basically the packaged demo...
[php:1:26bda31d97]<?php

error_reporting(E_ALL);
require '/var/www/html/Smarty.class.php';

$smarty = new Smarty;

$smarty->compile_check = true;
$smarty->debugging = true;

$smarty->assign("Name","Fred Irving Johnathan Bradley Peppergill");
$smarty->assign("FirstName",array("John","Mary","James","Henry"));
$smarty->assign("LastName",array("Doe","Smith","Johnson","Case"));
$smarty->assign("Class",array(array("A","B","C","D"), array("E", "F", "G", "H"),
array("I", "J", "K", "L"), array("M", "N", "O", "P")));

$smarty->assign("contacts", array(array("phone" => "1", "fax" => "2", "cell" => "3"),
array("phone" => "555-4444", "fax" => "555-3333", "cell" => "760-1234")));

$smarty->assign("option_values", array("NY","NE","KS","IA","OK","TX"));
$smarty->assign("option_output", array("New York","Nebraska","Kansas","Iowa","Oklahoma","Texas"));
$smarty->assign("option_selected", "NE");

$smarty->display('index.tpl');

?>[/php:1:26bda31d97]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to create the directories you are instructed to create in the installation. Ie. you must create the templates_c/ and cache/ directories in the appropriate locations for your setup and furthermore, ensure that they have proper permissions. Since you are using the defaults, do so in the Smarty dir.

Presently, there is no simple one-size-fits-all unpack-this-and-go demo of Smarty.

See: basic installation, extended setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP