Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Infamous $compile_dir error on line 1095 (URGENT!)

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kenshiro_kid
Smarty n00b


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 12:42 am    Post subject: Infamous $compile_dir error on line 1095 (URGENT!) Reply with quote

Okay, first of all- I'm trying to install kusaba imageboard software, and I guess one way or another it uses smarty in it's configuration. But anyway, it just plain isn't working. This is my second day trying to fix it and I'm still have no luck, yes, I've checked EVERYTHING:

-The sticky topic
-File permissions
-Safe_mode (which is off)
-The paths are in the right place, etc.

Everything should work, and it's really annoying me that it's not. Here are some pics of what I'm dealing with:

File permissions:
http://i28.tinypic.com/dcvfhx.png

Line 1095 (highlighted):
http://i30.tinypic.com/oaslkk.png

Error I get during installation:
http://i31.tinypic.com/2rh5ici.png

the only line containing $compile_dir:
http://i28.tinypic.com/2qn2iah.png

This is the kusaba installation file:
Code:

<?php
/**
 * @ignore
 */
function mysql_table_exists($database, $tableName) {
    global $tc_db;
    $tables = array();
    $tablesResults = $tc_db->GetAll("SHOW TABLES FROM `$database`;");
    foreach ($tablesResults AS $row) $tables[] = $row[0];
    return(in_array($tableName, $tables));
}

?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="pl" lang="pl">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
<title>kusaba Installation</title>
<style type="text/css">
body { font-family: sans-serif; font-size: 75%; background: #ffe }
a { text-decoration: none; color: #550 }
h1,h2 { margin: 0px; background: #fca }
h1 { font-size: 150% }
h2 { font-size: 100%; margin-top: 1em }
.hl { font-style: italic }
.plus { float: right; font-size: 8px; font-weight: normal; padding: 1px 4px 2px 4px; margin: 0px 0px; background: #eb9; color: #000; border: 1px solid #da8; cursor: hand; cursor: pointer }
.plus:hover { background: #da8; border: 1px solid #c97 }
ul { list-style: none; padding-left: 0px; margin: 0px }
li { margin: 0px }
li:hover { background: #fec; }
li a { display: block; width: 100%; }
</style>
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="/favicon.ico" />
</head>

<body>
<div style="text-align:center;"><h1>kusaba Installation</h1></div>

<?php
echo '<h2>Checking configuration file...</h2>';
if (file_exists('config.php')) {
   require 'config.php';
   require KU_ROOTDIR . 'inc/functions.php';
   if (KU_RANDOMSEED!="ENTER RANDOM LETTERS/NUMBERS HERE"&&KU_RANDOMSEED!="") {
      echo 'Configuration appears correct.';
      echo '<h2>Checking database...</h2>';
      $reqiredtables = array("banlist","bannedhashes","blotter","boards","board_filetypes","events","filetypes","loginattempts","modlog","module_settings","news","reports","sections","staff","watchedthreads","wordfilter");
      foreach ($reqiredtables as $tablename) {
         if (!mysql_table_exists(KU_DBDATABASE,KU_DBPREFIX.$tablename)) {
            die("Couldn't find the table <b>".KU_DBPREFIX.$tablename."</b> in the database.  Please <a href=\"install-mysql.php\"><b><u>insert the mySQL dump</u></b></a>.");
         }
      }
      echo 'Database appears correct.';
      echo '<h2>Inserting default administrator account...</h2>';
      $result_exists = $tc_db->GetOne("SELECT COUNT(*) FROM `".KU_DBPREFIX."staff` WHERE `username` = 'admin'");
      if ($result_exists==0) {
            $result = $tc_db->Execute("INSERT INTO `".KU_DBPREFIX."staff` ( `username` , `password` , `type` , `addedon` ) VALUES ( 'admin' , '".md5("admin")."' , '1' , '".time()."' )");
            echo 'Account inserted.';
        } else {
            echo 'There is already an administrator account inserted.';
            $result = true;
        }
      if ($result) {
         require_once KU_ROOTDIR . 'inc/classes/menu.class.php';
         $menu_class = new Menu();
         $menu_class->Generate();
         echo '<h2>Done!</h2>Installation has finished!  The default administrator account is <b>admin</b> with the password of <b>admin</b>.<br /><br />Delete this and the install-mysql.php file from the server, then <a href="manage.php">add some boards</a>!';
         echo '<br /><br /><br /><h1><font color="red">DELETE THIS AND install-mysql.php RIGHT NOW!</font></h1>';
      } else {
         echo 'Error inserting SQL.  Please add <b>$tc_db->debug = true;</b> just before ?&gt; in config.php to turn on debugging, and check the error message.';
      }
   } else {
      echo 'Please enter a random string into the <b>KU_RANDOMSEED</b> value.';
   }
} else {
   echo 'Unable to locate config.php';
}
?>

</body>
</html>


This is the smarty.php file:
Code:
<?php

/*

 * This file is part of Trevorchan.

 *

 * Trevorchan is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it under the

 * terms of the GNU General Public License as published by the Free Software

 * Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or (at your option) any later

 * version.

 *

 * Trevorchan is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT ANY

 * WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR

 * A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU General Public License for more details.

 *

 *  You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License along with

 * Trevorchan; if not, write to the Free Software Foundation, Inc.,

 * 51 Franklin St, Fifth Floor, Boston, MA  02110-1301  USA

 * +------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

 * Smarty engine initialization and configuration

 * +------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

 */

require_once KU_ROOTDIR . 'lib/smarty/Smarty.class.php';

$smarty = new Smarty();



$smarty->template_dir = KU_TEMPLATEDIR;

if (KU_CACHEDTEMPLATEDIR != '') {

   $smarty->compile_dir = KU_CACHEDTEMPLATEDIR;

   $smarty->cache_dir = KU_CACHEDTEMPLATEDIR;

}

$smarty->config_dir = KU_ROOTDIR . 'smarty/configs';



$smarty->assign('ku_name', KU_NAME);

$smarty->assign('ku_webpath', KU_WEBPATH);

$smarty->assign('ku_boardspath', KU_BOARDSPATH);

$smarty->assign('ku_cgipath', KU_CGIPATH);



?>


Anything else you guys need to know? Seriously- this is so irritating, I've never encountered one problem that's annoyed me for so long.

PS: I know it's a security issue to chmod 777 * blah blah blah I just want it to work D=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should use an absolute filepath to the template_dir, compile_dir, cache_dir, and config_dir so you are not relying on your include_path. What is happening is that "templates_c" is not in your include_path relative from the executing PHP script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kenshiro_kid
Smarty n00b


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do I do this? D= I'm sorry but I wasn't expecting to set up smarty with this imageboard software. I'm just learning PHP too- I have basic education in computer science so I do know what I'm doing, I just need a small shove in the right direction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kenshiro_kid
Smarty n00b


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevermind. It worked. Holy crap I am so relieved >< thank you so much! I can not express how happy I am that I finally have this fixed =D

EDIT: Um...now I'm getting a different error =/ Warning: Smarty error: unable to read resource: "Library/WebServer/Documents/kusabav104/smarty/templates/manage_menu.tpl" in /Library/WebServer/Documents/kusabav104/lib/smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1095

The file permissions are correct D= I don't know what else it could be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kenshiro_kid
Smarty n00b


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, so I fixed that problem...and now...I'm getting one blank page >< not all of them are blank, just one- the thing is it wasn't blank before and I don't know what I did to now make it blank =/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP