Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Why Smarty?

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
illusion
Smarty n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 5:19 am    Post subject: Why Smarty? Reply with quote

I am a newbie to the Smarty template engine, mucked around with it a little and from reading all these things said about smarty template. I have raised a question that I can't seem to find an answer.

Instead of using smary templates, we can do it by having a templates with variables. Then include that template in which ever page you want and have the business logics and variable values assigned before the inclusion. Cos smarty templates acts the same way (it seems). Maintenability level is just the same.

I am not talking about all the nice features (caching, partly compiled page etc) that it has, I am talking about the way of doing things with templates. Why add an extra layer?? All the features it has could be done as tool libraries.

Of course one of the reason I see is that designers are not prorammers, smarty can make things easier for them by making the syntax hidden (ie, {$var} instead of <?= $var ?> altho I don't really see how much easier), but why learn a whole new syntax instead of basic PHP? I am very curious. I am about to recommend my team to use Smartly templates at work. I would appreciate anyone could help me understand more about this. Thanks for reading/responding!
boots
Administrator

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi illusion. You seem to be talking about the very thing discussed in this thread.
mniskanen
Smarty Rookie

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Why Smarty? Reply with quote

illusion wrote: