Smarty Forum Index Smarty
The discussions here are for Smarty, a template engine for the PHP programming language.
How to list vertically in a table (dynamically)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smarty Forum Index -> Tips and Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Greg R
Smarty n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 9:37 am    Post subject: How to list vertically in a table (dynamically) Reply with quote

I had to sign up once I worked out how to do this - I have fallen in love with this template engine - everything is 10x easier to code now Very Happy

Although I'm a n00b to Smarty I have lots of PHP experience behind me - I'm hoping this helps others who may want to do the same (and learn at the same time Wink )

FYI: You should also read this thread for information:
http://www.phpinsider.com/smarty-forum/viewtopic.php?t=1391

First of all the code:
Template:
Code:

{section name=tr loop=$columnHeight}
<tr>
   {section name=td start=$smarty.section.tr.index step=$columnHeight loop=$recordCount}
   <td>
      {if isset($alphabet[td])}
         {$alphabet[td]}
      {else}
      {/if}
   </td>
   {/section}
</tr>
{/section}


PHP Pseudocode:
Code:

$alphabet = array('a', 'b', 'c', 'd', 'e', 'f'.....'z');
$smarty->assign('recordCount', ceil(<"Number of database records"> / <"number of columns">) * <"number of columns">);
$smarty->assign('stepSize', ceil(<"Number of database records"> / <"number of columns">));


Now an explanation, for the example I will use the alphabet (as it's easier to undertand Wink )

The goal:

To get table to display like this in 4 columns (column number can be anything):
Code:

A | H | O | V
B | I | P | W
C | J | Q | X
D | K | R | Y
E | L | S | Z
F | M | T |
G | N | U |


First of all the variables are set up in PHP:
The record count has to be expanded to make sure the td elements are generated for empty cells. So in this example we get:
ceil(26 / 4) * 4
ceil(6.5) * 4
7 * 4 = 28 (makes sense as you need at least 28 cells in a 4 column layout to hold the alphabet)

The column height is ceil(26 / 4) = 7

Next we write the template:
Code:
{section name=tr loop=$columnHeight}

i.e. We are making 7 rows. (0,1...6 of the array)

Code:
{section name=td start=$smarty.section.tr.index step=$columnHeight loop=$recordCount}

for each iteration we get:
start = 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 (the first entry in each row)
step = this goes up by 7 in this instance, therefore the first row goes 0, 7, 14, 21 and the second 1, 8, 15, 22
loop = we don't go past 27 (the 28th item) in this case.

if there is no white space between the <td></td> tags use an if or default (see the linked thread at the top) to ensure a non breaking space is entered to make all the table borders display.

I haven't tested this - but it should work fine down to 2 rows/columns at the very least.

Hopefully this helps some people who may want to do the same. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5613
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Greg,

thanks for the nice tip! I'm sure it will help someone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
B00zy
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2004 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip, Greg! In addition, here's how this can be done dynamically:

Code:

{assign var="columns" value="2"}
{math equation="ceil(count / columns)"
   count=$array|@count
   columns=$columns
   assign="columnHeight"}

{section name=tr loop=$columnHeight}

{if $smarty.section.tr.first == true}
<table>
{/if}

 <tr>
    {section name=td start=$smarty.section.tr.index step=$columnHeight loop=$columnHeight*$columns}
    <td>
       {if isset($array[td])}
          {$array[td]}
       {else}
       {/if}
    </td>
    {/section}
 </tr>

{if $smarty.section.tr.last == true}
<table>
{/if}
 
{/section}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punknroll
Smarty n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:21 am    Post subject: false end tag Reply with quote

nice one, but the last <table> should be </table>!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7290
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also accomplish this with split_array:

http://www.phpinsider.com/smarty-forum/viewtopic.php?t=2816
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
intel352
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this thread isn't long, but for a Sticky, you'd think any corrections would already be in the posted code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fl1
Smarty n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

split_array works like a charm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smarty Forum Index -> Tips and Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP