Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Is this right?

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Installation and Setup
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cornofstarchy
Smarty n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 8:19 pm    Post subject: Is this right? Reply with quote

Hi, I installed Smarty but I'm really new to setting up webservers and such so I was wondering if someone could tell me if I did it the "right way".

(I'm using WinXP, Apache2, and PHP4.)

[ Paths ]
C:\PHP\smarty\
C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\
C:\Windows\php.ini

1. Unzip Smarty.
2. Move the files from /smarty/lib/ into C:\PHP\smarty\
3. Edit php.ini...

Code:

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Paths and Directories ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

; UNIX: "/path1:/path2" 
;include_path = ".:/php/includes"
;
; Windows: "\path1;\path2"
include_path = ".;c:\PHP\includes;c:\PHP\smarty"

4. Time to test. Create a folder named /practice/ in htdocs. Move the files from /smarty/demo/ into /practice/.

5. Create a folder named /cache/ inside /practice/. /practice/ now contains 4 folders: /cache/, /templates/, /templates_c/, and /config/ as well as the test driver index.php.

6. Edit /practice/index.php so that it can read Smarty.class.php...

Code:

<?php
require 'C:\\PHP\\smarty\\Smarty.class.php';

7. Close everything and open index.php in the browser.

For me, this works. I get a test page and a popup window. However, the part I wasn't really sure about is am I supposed to include

Code:

<?php
require 'C:\\PHP\\smarty\\Smarty.class.php';

in every template that I create with a direct path to my C:\PHP\ directory? Is this safe or should I be doing this a different way?