Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Smarty start

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
yamokosk
Smarty n00b

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 4:02 am    Post subject: Smarty start Reply with quote

I am new to Smarty but seasoned with PHP. Like every other developer with out a template system I have always embedded my PHP/app code in HTML, so that may be why I am having a tough time grasping Smarty.

Here are my questions/comments:

Many smarty resources that I have read say that Smarty template files should be located in a non-Web readable folder. For example:

/usr/local/apache/htdocs --> root web folder
/usr/local/templates --> location of template files

But if you logically store the image files in a sub-folder of the template file directory (e.g. /usr/local/templates/images), don't you run into a mess with relative links? Are the images even readable by a Apache server? I tried this setup and no matter wether I used absolute or relative paths the images would not appear when the page was displayed. Now when I moved the templates folder (and the associated images sub-folder) beneath the web root, I had no problem displaying images.

I read a previous post on this forum where someone suggested using pre-filters to avoid messes with relative image links. Is that the only way to deal with images and templates? Furthermore, do template files and images have to be located in a web-readable directory?

Basically, is there something I am mis-understanding when it comes to a sites directory structure and Smarty implementation?
boots
Administrator

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi yamokosk--