Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

SmartyFormtool: a javascript tool for your forms
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: SmartyFormtool: a javascript tool for your forms Reply with quote

If you have ever had the need to do javascript tricks in your forms such as check-all, check-none, re-order, move from one list box to the other, etc. then this collection of plugins will help ease the pain.

http://www.phpinsider.com/php/code/SmartyFormtool/

This is the first release. I've only tested them in Mozilla and IE, although the functions are basic enough that they should work across the board. It has been an indispensible tool for me, so here it is in hopes it will help you too.

Enjoy!


Last edited by mohrt on Fri May 28, 2004 2:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xces
Smarty Regular


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The demo works with Firefox 0.8.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TuMadre
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the 5th example (moving items from one multiselectbox to another), but the buttons did not show up in the browser.

I added {formtool_init src="/formtool.js"} to the top of the template, and the function.*.php are in the smarty plugins dir.

I even created a $colors array, so I could cut-and-paste from the example page, but to no effect; both selectboxes appear with their contents, but the buttons to move items between the two, don't apear.

I verified that the function.*.php files and formtool.js are in place and accessible.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TuMadre wrote:
I tried the 5th example (moving items from one multiselectbox to another), but the buttons did not show up in the browser.

I added {formtool_init src="/formtool.js"} to the top of the template, and the function.*.php are in the smarty plugins dir.

I even created a $colors array, so I could cut-and-paste from the example page, but to no effect; both selectboxes appear with their contents, but the buttons to move items between the two, don't apear.

I verified that the function.*.php files and formtool.js are in place and accessible.

Any suggestions?


what browser are you using? did you try the demo?

http://www.phpinsider.com/php/code/SmartyFormtool/demo/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TuMadre
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using IE6, and the demo works fine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the buttons don't appear (generated by the {formtool ... } function) then check that the funtions are being found by Smarty and executed. You should get a Smarty error though... caching is off right?

check the javascript console too, it could be that formtool.js is not found. with your example, it should be in the doc root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TuMadre
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get:

Code:
Warning: Smarty error: formtool_moveup: missing 'save_from' parameter in /usr/local/WWW/games.xs4all.nl/htdocs/misc/bans/smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1102

Warning: Smarty error: formtool_moveup: missing 'save_from' parameter in /usr/local/WWW/games.xs4all.nl/htdocs/misc/bans/smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1102

Warning: Smarty error: formtool_moveup: missing 'save_from' parameter in /usr/local/WWW/games.xs4all.nl/htdocs/misc/bans/smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1102

Warning: Smarty error: formtool_moveup: missing 'save_from' parameter in /usr/local/WWW/games.xs4all.nl/htdocs/misc/bans/smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1102


I get nothing in javascript console (reference to formtool.js is correct, and file exists)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, supply a save parameter for them, being a hidden form value. I think the examples are missing them, and it doesn't do much good to use the formtools and not save the data somewhere. That one requires "save_from" and "save_to" since there are two to save.

{formtool ... save_to="save_to" save_from="save_from"}

<input type="hidden" name="save_to">
<input type="hidden" name="save_from">
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TuMadre
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mohrt wrote:
ah, supply a save parameter for them, being a hidden form value. I think the examples are missing them, and it doesn't do much good to use the formtools and not save the data somewhere. That one requires "save_from" and "save_to" since there are two to save.

{formtool ... save_to="save_to" save_from="save_from"}

<input type="hidden" name="save_to">
<input type="hidden" name="save_from">


OK, I'm kinda new to this all, and I don't understand what needs to be on the dots, and where to put the hidden formfields. Embarassed

Could you please update your example below so it includes all necessary details? That would be greatly appreciated.

Code:
<table border=1>
   <tr>
   <td valign="top">
      <select name="colors5[]" multiple size="10">
      {html_options values=$colors output=$colors}
      </select>
      <input type="hidden" name="colors5_save">
   </td>
   <td align="center">
      {formtool_moveall from="colors5[]" to="colors6[]" button_text=">&"}<br />
      {formtool_move from="colors5[]" to="colors6[]" button_text="&"}<br />
      {formtool_move from="colors6[]" to="colors5[]" button_text="&"}<br />
      {formtool_moveall from="colors6[]" to="colors5[]" button_text="<&"}
   </td>
   <td valign="top">
      <select name="colors6[]" multiple size="10">
      </select>
      <input type="hidden" name="colors6_save">
   </td>
   </tr>
</table>


Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just need to tell each formtool button where to save the data to when you click one. There needs to be two hidden fields anywhere on the form to save to.

Code:

<table border=1>
   <tr>
   <td valign="top">
      <select name="colors5[]" multiple size="10">
      {html_options values=$colors output=$colors}
      </select>
      <input type="hidden" name="colors5_save">
   </td>
   <td align="center">
      {formtool_moveall from="colors5[]" to="colors6[]" button_text=">&"  save_from="colors5_save" save_to="colors6_save"}<br />
      {formtool_move from="colors5[]" to="colors6[]" button_text="&" save_from="colors5_save" save_to="colors6_save"}<br />
      {formtool_move from="colors6[]" to="colors5[]" button_text="&" save_from="colors5_save" save_to="colors6_save"}<br />
      {formtool_moveall from="colors6[]" to="colors5[]" button_text="<&" save_from="colors5_save" save_to="colors6_save"}
   </td>
   <td valign="top">
      <select name="colors6[]" multiple size="10">
      </select>
      <input type="hidden" name="colors5_save">
      <input type="hidden" name="colors6_save">
   </td>
   </tr>
</table>


When you submit the form, colors5_save and colors6_save will contain a comma-separated list of values corresponding to the two option lists and their new values.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TuMadre
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK...

- formtool.js is in place and correctly referred to from the template.
- I copied the example (including save from and save to)
- I created the array, so I could test the same setup as the one in your example

Now the buttons are displayed correctly, but clicking them generates a JS error (object required)

I'm using IE6, so the javascript error messages aren't doing any good (they point to a line which is comment in formtool.js

Any more suggestions?

*update*
Even if I try to rebuild your example from scratch it generates JS errors. I'm probably doing something terribly wrong? Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a URL we can look at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TuMadre
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://games.xs4all.nl/tester.php

tester.php
Code:
<?php
require("xxx/xxx/config.inc.php");
$colors = array(red,yellow,blue,orange,purple,green,brown,black,white);

$smarty = new dynamicPage;
$smarty->assign("colors",$colors);
$smarty->display('tester.tpl');
?>


tester.tpl
Code:
{formtool_init src="/formtool.js"}

<table border=1>
   <tr>
   <td valign="top">
      <select name="colors5[]" multiple size="10">
      {html_options values=$colors output=$colors}
      </select>
      <input type="hidden" name="colors5_save">
   </td>
   <td align="center">
      {formtool_moveall from="colors5[]" to="colors6[]" button_text=">>"  save_from="colors5_save" save_to="colors6_save"}<br />
      {formtool_move from="colors5[]" to="colors6[]" button_text=">" save_from="colors5_save" save_to="colors6_save"}<br />
      {formtool_move from="colors6[]" to="colors5[]" button_text="<" save_from="colors5_save" save_to="colors6_save"}<br />
      {formtool_moveall from="colors6[]" to="colors5[]" button_text="<<" save_from="colors5_save" save_to="colors6_save"}
   </td>
   <td valign="top">
      <select name="colors6[]" multiple size="10">
      </select>
      <input type="hidden" name="colors5_save">
      <input type="hidden" name="colors6_save">
   </td>
   </tr>
</table>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you seem to be missing one thing... an actual form! eg:

Code:
<form name="foobar" action="doit">
    {formtool_checkall name="colors[]"}
    ....
</form>


Check out the source for Monte's demo at http://www.phpinsider.com/php/code/SmartyFormtool/demo/ -- it has it in there. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TuMadre
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boots wrote:
you seem to be missing one thing... an actual form! eg:

Code:
<form name="foobar" action="doit">
    {formtool_checkall name="colors[]"}
    ....
</form>


Check out the source for Monte's demo at http://www.phpinsider.com/php/code/SmartyFormtool/demo/ -- it has it in there. Wink


Embarassed that was it Embarassed

sorry for wasting your time (you might want to update the examples to prevent ppl like me fouling up) Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP