Smarty Forum Index Smarty
The discussions here are for Smarty, a template engine for the PHP programming language.

SmartyPaginate 1.2 Question - Help please.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
2344223
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:39 am    Post subject: SmartyPaginate 1.2 Question - Help please. Reply with quote

Hi guys.

i really like the paginate addon. thats exactly what i was searching for.

But i cant get it work Sad

I hope you guys can help me with it. I am using Paginate 1.2 addon.

Here my code:

Code:

session_start();
    require('Smarty.class.php');
    require('SmartyPaginate.class.php');
   
    $smarty =& new Smarty;
   
    // required connect
    SmartyPaginate::connect();
    // set items per page
    SmartyPaginate::setLimit(25);

   
   function get_db_results() {
$query = "SELECT * FROM game WHERE cat='3' LIMIT ". SmartyPaginate::getCurrentIndex() . " ". SmartyPaginate::getLimit();
         $results = mysql_query( $query );
         $_data = mysql_fetch_array( $results );

        // set total number of items
        SmartyPaginate::setTotal(count($_data));

             return $_data;
    }
     

 // assign your db results to the template
    $smarty->assign('results', get_db_results());
    // assign {$paginate} var
    SmartyPaginate::assign($smarty);
    // display results
    $smarty->display('index.tpl');


There must be sth. missing at the get_db_results function. I always get "This is no valid mysql_result_resource" as error message.

Does anyone know what i do wrong?

Thanks for help-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7365
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For one, you need a comma in your query: LIMIT X,Y

I'm not sure if that is the root of the error message though, something might be wrong with the database access.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
2344223
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok maybe thats the problem.

so how is the right syntax then for the query, like this?

$query = "SELECT * FROM game WHERE cat='3' LIMIT ". SmartyPaginate::getCurrentIndex() . ", ". SmartyPaginate::getLimit();

I have some understanding problems with the . - Operator. would be nice if you could give me the right syntax.

thx a lot for you help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7365
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That looks right. You can echo your $query value and see exactly what it is producing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP