Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Generating static HTML code... Possible bug?

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Angel_bcn
Smarty n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 12:11 am    Post subject: Generating static HTML code... Possible bug? Reply with quote

I'm trying to use Smarty to generate static HTML code... and I'm finding a weird problem.

My code is something like this:

$tpl = new Smarty;
$tpl->use_sub_dirs = false;
$tpl->caching = true;
$tpl->force_compile = true;
for ( $i=0;$i<count(...);$i++) {
$tpl_data = function that gets the data from a database($i);
$tpl_template = function that gets the template name from a database($i);
$tpl->assign_by_ref("TPL_DATA",$tpl_data);
$tpl->fetch($tpl_template);

function that copies the generated file in the cache directory to my destination directory;

}

This code works perfect whenever the template name changes within the loop... but in case that the template name is the same... Evil or Very Mad the file that appears in the cache file has only the firts line that is the one that includes the time stamp and expiration thing generated by Smarty.

I know that I'm not using Smarty on a very standard way... but this behaviour is driving me crazy... Shocked any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you are trying to pre-cache contents? I'm a little thrown by your description because I would think that the cache file for the case of re-fecthing for the same template name would contain the results from the last fetch, not the first since you have force_compile = true.

At anyrate, I think you want to look into Multiple Caches Per Page.

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angel_bcn
Smarty n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes the idea is use the cache feature to generate the page and then copy it to the location I want to. Before I posted that I already had a look and tried with Multiple Caches Per Page and the results are the same.

Note that before re-fetching I copy the file from the cache to another location... the problem is when I re-fetch using the same template name the result cache file has only the lfirst line that is the one with the time generation and the time expiration information...

In the trials I've even deleted the compiled file just to see if there is a compilation problem... but there is no compilation problem... Shocked Shocked Shocked

Any more ideas around?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angel_bcn
Smarty n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2003 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I've found the bug... The problem is at the _process_template function.

There are a couple of 'include_once' sentences that have to be 'include' sentences... Those are the ones that are used to get the compiled template into the $_smarty_results variable.

Any chance this bug is corrected and deployed in the next smarty release?

I don't have my laptop right now here and cannot provide 100% of the details of the bug... sorry... but if you look at the first post of this thread you might understand the reason why.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2003 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you didn't indicate with version of smarty you use. 2.6.0-RC3 doesn't have a _process_template()-method and there are no include_once()-statements in the _process_template()-method of 2.5.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Angel_bcn
Smarty n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2003 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry... I was using 2.3.1.... my big mistake.... Now upgraded to 2.6.0.

Anyhow... can you please explain how is composed the name of the file stored at the cache directory?... Or, how can I get access to it directly from the smarty variable?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maw
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am    Post subject: Static HTML Reply with quote

I use Smarty to generate static html, but with a different approach. We have an internal test website for development (something like http://website), this runs smarty as you normally would, but with no cacheing - it is for development after all. Then when you call a page with ?save (e.g. http://website/index?save) the approriate files are created/copied to a temp directory. I then quickly check these and upload them to the live website. I use the command:
Code:
$source = $webpage->fetch($template);

to fetch the html to a string and the save that to a file, no need to worry about what is happening on the filesystem. Also I can parse that string to extract the linked files (images, css, js, etc).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP