Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Problems with gettext

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
YBTD
Smarty n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:21 pm    Post subject: Problems with gettext Reply with quote

Hello,

I seem to have a problem with the block.t plugin for smarty (http://smarty.incutio.com/?page=SmartyGettext)

I have a template, with the following text:
Code:
{t}Latest News{/t}


The output to the screens is the following:
Code:
Project-Id-Version: Want2Be
POT-Creation-Date:
PO-Revision-Date:
Last-Translator:
Language-Team:
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-Poedit-SourceCharset: utf-8
X-Poedit-Language: Dutch
X-Poedit-Country: Belgium
X-Poedit-KeywordsList: _;gettext
Laatste nieuws


The last line is the exact translation to Dutch, but what about all the stuff that is coming above it, how do I remove it, or what did I do wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hal9000
Smarty n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are doing nothing wrong.
I was having the exact same problem since Smarty 3.1 came out.
After some digging today I found out that for some reason the block function gets called twice, once with an empty string, once with the string from the template.
I suspect this is a Smarty bug, however you can easily work around this problem by adding this at the beginning of the smarty_block_t function in block.t.php (i am using version 1.0b):
Code:
if (!$text) return;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
U.Tews
Administrator


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 5068
Location: Hamburg / Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not a smarty bug. Block functions are called always without content at the start tag to allow for initalization code (handle passed parameter etc).

What has changed since 3.1 is that a returned value is also eched on the starting tag. This was changed as we had lot of request for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jebediah
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:42 pm    Post subject: smarty-gettext Reply with quote

Hi there,

I found the i18n support of Smarty (not per see, but as the whole process) a bit lacking. That's why I've implemented and released a smarty-gettext project that enables full i18n support for Smarty, including the creation of po files, etc.

Have a look here: http://code.google.com/p/smarty-gettext/

any feedback, etc. would be very much appreciated!

Bests,
Charly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP