Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Nested Sections

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bmadigan
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2003 6:01 pm    Post subject: Nested Sections Reply with quote

I have been following the link below (Loop in Loop) and I keep coming back to where I was before. I will try to be somewhat explicit in my code:

Here is my Current Output:

Federal Links
    Official Government

    FBI Links


Local Links
    Official Government

    FBI Links


Here is the output I DESIRE

Federal Links
    Official Government

    FBI Links


Local Links
    City Council

    Public Utilities


Links.html

Code:

// Get Public Links Categories
$pubCatSQL = "SELECT * FROM LinksCat ORDER BY Name";
$pubCatResult = mysql_query($pubCatSQL,$conn) or die('Error In Query: Category');
$rsPubCat = array();      // Set Result Set Variable
$i = 0;                  // Initialize Array Index
while ($pubRowCat = mysql_fetch_array($pubCatResult)) {
   $tmpPubCat = array (
            'id' => $pubRowCat['id'],
            'Name' => $pubRowCat['Name']            
   );
   // Get the Link(s) under this Category
   // $pubSQL = "SELECT * FROM Links WHERE CatID = $tmpPubCat[id] ORDER BY Title";
   $pubSQL = "SELECT * FROM Links WHERE CatID = $pubRowCat[id] ORDER BY Title";
   $pubResult = mysql_query($pubSQL,$conn) or die('Error In Query: Links');
   $rsPub = array();
   $li = 0;
   while ($pubRow = mysql_fetch_array($pubResult)) {
      $tmpPub = array (
               'id' => $pubRow['id'],
               'Title' => $pubRow['Title'],
               'URL' => $pubRow['URL']
      );
      $rsSetPub[$li++] = $tmpPub;
   }   
   $rsSetPubCat[$i++] = $tmpPubCat;
}
...
// Assign/Pass The Public Category Results To the Template
$smarty->assign_by_ref('rowPubCat', $rsSetPubCat);
// Assign/Pass The Public Links Results To the Template
$smarty->assign_by_ref('rowPublic', $rsSetPub);


Here is my Smarty Template Code:

Code:

     {section name=PubCat loop=$rowPubCat}
      <p class="orangeHeader">{$rowPubCat[PubCat].Name}</p>
        {section name=PubLink loop=$rowPublic}
        <li><a href="{$rowPublic[PubLink].URL}" class="textlink">{$rowPublic[PubLink].Title}</a></li>
        {/section}
     {/section}


I assume my problem is in the
Code:
{section name=PubLink loop=$rowPublic}
Part of my template. I cannot get this to work at all.

Any suggestions would be great Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2003 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, it looks like your inner PHP loop is overwriting the results of the category contents.

I haven't tested, but you should be okay if you use something along the lines of:
$rsSetPub[$i][$li++] = $tmpPub;

and in your template:
{$rowPublic[PubCat][PubLink].URL}


A few comments:

Get your db to join the data. It is faster and leads to better program design. It also means you don't need an inner-loop Smile

Something like:
$pubCatSQL = "SELECT LinksCat.*, Link.* FROM LinksCat, Links WHERE Links.CatID = LinksCat.ID"

Try to condense your data structure. There is probably no need for separate arrays for categories and links. Either make them both children of a single array or make the links children of each category.

Hope that helps!


Last edited by boots on Sun May 04, 2003 12:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmadigan
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2003 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I will try your suggestion for both your comments.

I did have this query already, I agree with you for defining my data structure within the DB Server itself. (ie. having 1 array)

I would normally have run it like this

Code:

$publicSQL = "SELECT *, LinksCat.Name, LinksCat.ID
              FROM Links
                   INNER JOIN LinksCat
                         ON Links.CatID = LinksCat.id
              WHERE LinksCat.Members = '0'
           ORDER BY LinksCat.Name";


Thanks for the reply, I'll try both out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP