Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

SmartyValidate: a simple yet powerful form validation plugin
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 16, 17, 18  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xces
Smarty Regular


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Monthe i was just editing my reply, you should re-read my reply because i added a bug.

p.s. I verified that the sollution i provided works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another option is to put the span tags right in the message content, if the error formatting isn't any more complicated than that...

Code:
{validate field="foobar" criteria="notEmpty" message='<span class="error">can't be empty</span>'}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xces
Smarty Regular


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep i had that before, but then you are going pass the idea smarty is all about, seperating code from logic imho...

Right now i have the validate tags right after the input fields, but with long fields this is kinda not done..

Normal form: (click for large)


Failed form: (click for large)


It would be even better to "gather" all error messages, and put them into 1 "section" or so which you could use to show the errors. Lets say a form has 4 fields, and 3 of them fail to validate, normally you could (a) echo the error message right there, or (b) assign the error to a variable.

My suggestion:
How would it be if you could (c) print a "section" with all returned error messages somewhere in the compiled template? E.g. at the top of the form, "Your form failed to validate due to the following reasons: ..." Combine that with a custom error template and it might be usefull. I don't have any code atm but i will see if i can whip something up without modifiying your code to much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about a new attribute "append"

{validate ... append="errors"}

Then $errors would be an array of error messages you can loop over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 1:59 pm    Post subject: Version 1.5 released Reply with quote

New version released:

http://www.phpinsider.com/php/code/SmartyValidate/

ChangeLog:

* added "append" attribute as alternate to "assign"
* added fourth parameter to custom functions to access all form vars.

I also added a "CREDITS" section to the README file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oops, forgot to add to ChangeLog:

* fix bug with passing form name to custom function (bug submitted from xces)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xces wrote:
Yep i had that before, but then you are going pass the idea smarty is all about, seperating code from logic imho...


Smarty is about separation of presentation from business logic, I don't see where this applies. Putting HTML tags in a variable that comes from a template shouldn't cause problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xces
Smarty Regular


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx for te update! There is a so called "Edit" button could have saved you a couple of replys Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible to add a new param, which executes a custom function to the post variable, like trim? Remove the trim attribut and use this instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see what you are asking. My question would be, what other form data munging would be useful, and correct to handle here?

If this were to be implemented, I can think of two ways off the top of my head:

New attribute type "execute":
{validate name="foo" execute="trim" ...}

New criteria type "execute":
{validate name="foo" criteria="execute" func="strtoupper" ...}

A couple of issues that come along with this is execution of multiple functions on one form element, and registering the called functions for security.

Good topic though...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
electr0n
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mohrt wrote:

New criteria type "execute":
{validate name="foo" criteria="execute" func="strtoupper" ...}

Hm that's not so good I think, because therefore you've got the custom functions. I need this in the is_valid() Method, for later use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xces
Smarty Regular


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Electron:
If you assign a custom function you can do all kind of things. E.g. i made a custom for the place where people have to change their password. Instead of using "notempty" i used "custom" which checked for empty string and after that for string with minimum length of 6 chars. The problem with an execute is also that you could require multiple params etc etc... I don't see the advantage of execute above custom...

Morthe:
I changed your code again.. I do like the append function but not the part where you say it is either this or that.. The reason for that is this... I made it possible to use both the assign and the append function. This gives me the possibility to display a custom error at the place of the error form field (like a few posts earlier) and 1 custom message like "Your form contains errors" on top of anywhere i want in the form.

Basicly to get this to work i print the error ("required field" or whatever) at where the field is in the template, and i check the count of the appended error section to see if i have to print the "Warning, your form contains errors please fix them" message.

This means i actually only use the appended error section to see if the form failed to validate (if the count > 0)... Maybe you could "assign" a new variable from within your smartyvalidate::isvalid function if the form failed to validate..

e.g. if the form failed to validate:
smarty->assign($form.'_isvalid', false);

Then in the template we could use:
{if not $default_isvalid} print custom error message {/if}

If you could add anything like that what i suggest then your code "either this or that" would be cool!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xces wrote:
Electron:
If you assign a custom function you can do all kind of things. E.g. i made a custom for the place where people have to change their password. Instead of using "notempty" i used "custom" which checked for empty string and after that for string with minimum length of 6 chars. The problem with an execute is also that you could require multiple params etc etc... I don't see the advantage of execute above custom...

The criteria attribute should be used for validation and the attribute which I would like to use, should be used for transformation.
I would use this for transformation, like trim, ltrim, rtrim or for example a http upload, I would need this for my CMS, because it must be dynamic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xces wrote:
This means i actually only use the appended error section to see if the form failed to validate (if the count > 0)... Maybe you could "assign" a new variable from within your smartyvalidate::isvalid function if the form failed to validate..

e.g. if the form failed to validate:
smarty->assign($form.'_isvalid', false);


SmartyValidate isn't tightly coupled with the Smarty object at the time is_valid() is called, so if you want a template variable for this, you'll have to assign one yourself after is_valid() fails. However, I did change the code so append and assign can be used together.

Version 1.6 is now available.

http://www.phpinsider.com/php/code/SmartyValidate/

Changes:

* change assign/append to act separately (monte, xces)
* add transform parameter, deprecate trim parameter (monte)
* add register_criteria() and register_transform() methods,
deprecate register_function() method (monte)
* add is_init() and clear() methods (monte)


Notable feature addition, you can now apply multiple transformations to a variable with the tranform attribute. example:

{validate ... transform="trim,strtolower,ucfirst"}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
electr0n
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great! I'll test it the next time Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 2 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP