Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

SmartyValidate: a simple yet powerful form validation plugin
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 16, 17, 18  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ZuqR
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would it be possible to see a live demo? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
newname
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 25 May 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

first of all.. Thanks for the great plugin.
I didnt really need it, I had my own validation functions..
but I though it would look more professional to use Smarty Validate.. Smile
so i am using it now..
But I have many problems regarding it.
First of all, Your Forum Registeration system sucks !!!!!!
i had to register 4 times to get activation email :@
I used live[dot]com email for first try, didnt work.
then used hotmail , didnt work.
Then used mailinator[dot]com, didnt work.
then today on fourth try, i used another mailinator email, and it worked.
but I am so angry I had to use this stupid username :@
Please fix it.

And secondly, Congrats for this Awesome plugin Very Happy


now, to my point.
I was trying to register for 3 days to get this problem fixed Sad


Here is my bit of smarty code :

Code:
      if (empty($_POST['submit'])) {
         // new form, we (re)set the session data
         SmartyValidate::disconnect();
         SmartyValidate::connect($smarty, true);
         // register criteria
         // Captcha
         if ($config['showcap'] == 'y')
         {
         //   if (!PhpLPCaptcha::Validate($_POST['captcha'])) {
            //   $captcha_error = '<p>Images Verification Failed</p>';
            //   $smarty->assign('captcha_error', $captcha_error);
            //   $fatal = true;
         //   }
            SmartyValidate::register_object('PHPLPCaptcha', $PHPLPCaptcha);
            SmartyValidate::register_criteria('ValidCaptcha','PHPLPCaptcha->Validate');
            //SmartyValidate::register_validator('v_Captcha','PHPLP_Captcha','ValidCaptcha',false,false,'trim');

         }


its a bit of my long code that doesnt work Sad
I tried both methods of validation, but no success , my template :


Code:


   {*validate id="v_Captcha" message="<p>Visual Verification Failed</p>"*}
   {validate field="PHPLP_Captcha" criteria="ValidCaptcha" message="<p>Visual Verification Failed bro</p>"}



my form :

Code:
   {if $config.showcap == 'y'}
   <tr valign="baseline">
      <th><label for="linkemail">*Visual Confirmation:</label>
        <div class="desc">(Enter text as shown in the Picture. This is to prevent Automated Submissions and to confirm that Submission is being done by a Human.)</div></th>
      <td><p style="padding: 2px; border: 1px solid #FCFCFC;"><img src="submit.php?action=captcha" width="200" height="60" alt="PHPLP Captcha" id="PHPLP Captcha" /> (Cant read? Click <a name="Captcha" href="Javascript: NewCaptcha();" >Refresh</a> to get a new one)</p>
     <input type="text" name="PHPLP_Captcha" id="PHPLP_Captcha" style="width: 198px" maxlength="6" /><br />
     (Letters are CaseInsensitive. There isnt any Zero.)
     </td>
    </tr>
   {/if}


It gives this error upon input :


Code:
Notice: SmartyValidate: [is_valid] method 'Validate' is not valid for object 'PHPLPCaptcha'. in D:\xampp\htdocs\linkexchangesystem\smarty\SmartyValidate.class.php on line 604



Can you please please please please please help me sir??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drizzt
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:18 am    Post subject: problem with another form than "default" Reply with quote

Hello everyone, and thanx monte for this great plugin.
However, I have a problem.
while testing my form (two fields, one validation), i repeatidly have this error:
Warning: Smarty error: validate: validator id 'femail' is not registered. in /home/dev/smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1095

the form tpl :
Code:
<form method="post" action="" id="connexion" name="connexion" class="formConnexion">
   
      <p><label class="text" for="email">Email :</label><input class="text" type="text" name="email" value="{$email|default:''|escape}" /><span class="warning">
      {validate form="connexion" id="femail" message="Vous devez renseigner votre email" }</span></p>
      <p><label class="text" for="mdp">Mot de passe :</label><input type="password" name="mdp" class="text"  /><span class="note">6 car. min.</span></p>
      <p class="envoy">
            <label class="text">&nbsp;</label><input type="submit" value="Connexion" /> <input type="reset" value="Effacer" />
         </p>
         
   </form>


And the php :
Code:
if(empty($_POST)) {
        // new form, we (re)set the session data
        SmartyValidate::connect($smarty, true);
        SmartyValidate::register_form('connexion');
          SmartyValidate::register_validator('femail', 'email', 'isEmail', false, false, 'trim');
        // display form
       
    } else {   
       // validate after a POST
       SmartyValidate::connect($smarty);
       if(SmartyValidate::is_valid($_POST)) {
           // no errors, done with SmartyValidate
           SmartyValidate::disconnect();
           
       } else {
           // error, redraw the form
           $smarty->assign($_POST);
           
       }
    }


if i remove the form="connexion" from the tpl, in the validate tag, it works. So i don't know where is my mistake.

I was hoping to create 2 forms on the page (log in/new account) that's why this functionnality could help me.

If someone can help me, thanx in advance,
Julien
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drizzt
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally, i found the mistake :
in the php, the register_validator need a parameter about the registered form.
Line concerned :
SmartyValidate::register_validator('femail', 'email', 'isEmail', false, false, 'trim','connexion');
Full code :
Code:

if(empty($_POST)) {
        // new form, we (re)set the session data
        //echo 'premier affichage';
        SmartyValidate::connect($smarty, true);
        SmartyValidate::register_form('connexion');
          SmartyValidate::register_validator('femail', 'email', 'isEmail', false, false, 'trim','connexion');
        // display form
       
    } else {   
       // validate after a POST
       SmartyValidate::connect($smarty);
       SmartyValidate::register_form('connexion');
       
       if(SmartyValidate::is_valid($_POST)) {
           // no errors, done with SmartyValidate
           //echo 'good';
           SmartyValidate::disconnect();
           
       } else {
           // error, redraw the form
           //echo 'not good';
           $smarty->assign($_POST);
           
       }
    }


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cycler
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 21 Jul 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:30 pm    Post subject: Fails with 3.0 rc1 - rc3 Reply with quote

This plugin seems very nice! However for 3.0 compatibility it appears it needs some maintainance.

After it failed with 3.0 i tried it with 2.6.25 and it works perfectly.

I first tested the example with rc3 and i get a deprecated notices for each form field. When submitting anyway i get a fatal error. I've included the full errors below.

Any help would be appreciated I understand that solving this will not be trivial Sad

--

i get multiple of these for the form displaying part

Notice: function call 'get_template_vars' is unknown or deprecated. in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\sysplugins\smarty_internal_wrapper.php on line 57

--

i get this when submitting

Notice: function call '_get_plugin_filepath' is unknown or deprecated. in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\sysplugins\smarty_internal_wrapper.php on line 57

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'Exception' with message 'unknown method '_get_plugin_filepath'' in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\sysplugins\smarty_internal_wrapper.php:117 Stack trace: #0 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\Smarty.class.php(763): Smarty_Internal_Wrapper->convert('_get_plugin_fil...', Array) #1 [internal function]: Smarty->__call('_get_plugin_fil...', Array) #2 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\SmartyValidate.class.php(490): Smarty->_get_plugin_filepath('validate_transf...', 'trim') #3 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\SmartyValidate.class.php(199): SmartyValidate::_execute_transform('trim', '', Array, Array, 'default') #4 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\SmartyValidate.class.php(285): SmartyValidate::_failed_fields(Array, 'default') #5 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\validate\index.php(33): SmartyValidate::is_valid(Array) #6 {main} thrown in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\sysplugins\smarty_internal_wrapper.php on line 117
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cycler
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 21 Jul 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I run SmartyValidate on 2.6.25 for now and think i found a minor bug:

SmartyValidate::is_registered_validator keeps returning false but defininately is running correctly.

I registered it for a non default form which is correctly registered (confirmed by SmartyValidate::is_registered_form).

The validator was registered earlier by SmartyValidate::register_validator.

Is there anything else i might have forgotten?

EDIT: SOLVED it, can't really tell what it was though, sorry.


Last edited by cycler on Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Fails with 3.0 rc1 - rc3 Reply with quote

cycler wrote:
This plugin seems very nice! However for 3.0 compatibility it appears it needs some maintainance.

After it failed with 3.0 i tried it with 2.6.25 and it works perfectly.

I first tested the example with rc3 and i get a deprecated notices for each form field. When submitting anyway i get a fatal error. I've included the full errors below.

Any help would be appreciated I understand that solving this will not be trivial Sad

--

i get multiple of these for the form displaying part

Notice: function call 'get_template_vars' is unknown or deprecated. in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\sysplugins\smarty_internal_wrapper.php on line 57

--

i get this when submitting

Notice: function call '_get_plugin_filepath' is unknown or deprecated. in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\sysplugins\smarty_internal_wrapper.php on line 57

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'Exception' with message 'unknown method '_get_plugin_filepath'' in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\sysplugins\smarty_internal_wrapper.php:117 Stack trace: #0 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\Smarty.class.php(763): Smarty_Internal_Wrapper->convert('_get_plugin_fil...', Array) #1 [internal function]: Smarty->__call('_get_plugin_fil...', Array) #2 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\SmartyValidate.class.php(490): Smarty->_get_plugin_filepath('validate_transf...', 'trim') #3 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\SmartyValidate.class.php(199): SmartyValidate::_execute_transform('trim', '', Array, Array, 'default') #4 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\SmartyValidate.class.php(285): SmartyValidate::_failed_fields(Array, 'default') #5 C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\validate\index.php(33): SmartyValidate::is_valid(Array) #6 {main} thrown in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2-3\libs\sysplugins\smarty_internal_wrapper.php on line 117


It needs updated for 3.0. I'll do that after 3.0 is finalized. Basically get_template_vars needs to be getTemplateVars, and _get_plugin_filepath is being used to load plugins, it needs to use loadPlugin() instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cycler
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 21 Jul 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

newname wrote:
first of all.. Thanks for the great plugin.
It gives this error upon input :


Code:
Notice: SmartyValidate: [is_valid] method 'Validate' is not valid for object 'PHPLPCaptcha'. in D:\xampp\htdocs\linkexchangesystem\smarty\SmartyValidate.class.php on line 604



Can you please please please please please help me sir??


EDIT: Resolved! Don't get confused by this post. Instead check out a working example here : http://www.smarty.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=65970#65946

I've also tried setting up a class method as a custom criteria over and over. I could, for the life of me not get it to work due to the same problem.

is_registered_criteria kept returning false *until* I did not set my form in the register_criteria call.

It then uses the default form and suddenly is_registered_criteria returns TRUE.

This is most likely a bug. I want to use my own form and class methods. Please help.


Last edited by cycler on Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From README:

Code:
function is_registered_criteria($func_name, $form = 'default')


If you are not using the default form, you must supply the name as the 2nd param. This true with most every API function.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cycler
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 21 Jul 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mohrt wrote:
From README:

Code:
function is_registered_criteria($func_name, $form = 'default')


If you are not using the default form, you must supply the name as the 2nd param. This true with most every API function.

EDIT: Resolved! Don't get confused by this post. Instead check out a working example here : http://www.smarty.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=65970#65946

I'm aware of that I am saying if i supply my form name it doesn't work unless i omit it. My supplying the form parameter works for everything else though.

I specify my form param in every call and template (i.e. in register_form,register_validator,register_criteria,is_valid and in the {validate} tags). Everything works until i try adding my object and then the method as a custom criteria.

Perhaps you could write a working example with a custom validator method? And one more question: Is it allowed to register $this as an object?


Last edited by cycler on Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It should work something like:

Code:
SmartyValidate::register_object('myobj',$myobj);
SmartyValidate::register_criteria('isPass', 'myobj->test_password');


I'm not sure about registering $this, I don't think I've tried it. But it should work? It's just an instantiated object. Try it both ways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cycler
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 21 Jul 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EDIT: Resolved! Don't get confused by this post. Instead check out a working example here : http://www.smarty.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=65970#65946

Ok i stopped working on my complex code and made the most basic implementation in order to get it right but no luck. Please look if there is anything out of the ordinary here on my end. Thanks for helping!

File : index.php
Code:

<?php

require '../libs/Smarty.class.php';
require '../libs/SmartyValidate.class.php';

class Validator
{
  public function test_password($value, $empty, &$params, &$formvars)
  {
    echo "test_password() was called, test succeeded!";
    return true;
  }
}

session_start();
   
$smarty =& new Smarty;
$myobj = new Validator();
   
if(empty($_POST))
{
  SmartyValidate::connect($smarty, true);         
  SmartyValidate::register_object('myobj',$myobj);
  SmartyValidate::register_criteria('isPass', 'myobj->test_password');             
  SmartyValidate::register_validator('validator_id_passwordfield', 'form_input_password', 'isPass', false, false, 'trim');
  $smarty->display('form.tpl');
}
else
{   
  SmartyValidate::connect($smarty);
  if(SmartyValidate::is_valid($_POST))
  {
    SmartyValidate::disconnect();
    $smarty->display('success.tpl');
  }
  else
  {
    $smarty->assign($_POST);
    $smarty->display('form.tpl');
  }
}

?>

File : form.tpl
Code:

    <form method="post" action="index.php">
    {validate id="validator_id_passwordfield" message="Validation says you messed up"}
    Full Name: <input type="text" name="form_input_password"><br />
   
    <input type="submit" name="submitOK" value="OK">
    </form>   

File: success.tpl
Code:

Your form submission succeeded.

The error:
Code:

Notice: SmartyValidate: [is_valid] method 'test_password' is not valid for object 'myobj'. in C:\xampp\xampp\htdocs\_smartytest2\libs\SmartyValidate.class.php on line 604


Last edited by cycler on Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The register_object() call does not survive between page submits, you have to register it on the POST as well. Your object is not serialized in the session for various reasons, you have to instantiate and assign.

Code:
<?php

require '../libs/Smarty.class.php';
require '../libs/SmartyValidate.class.php';

class Validator
{
  public function test_password($value, $empty, &$params, &$formvars)
  {
    echo "test_password() was called, test succeeded!";
    return true;
  }
}

session_start();
   
$smarty =& new Smarty;
$myobj = new Validator();
   
if(empty($_POST))
{
  SmartyValidate::connect($smarty, true);         
  SmartyValidate::register_object('myobj',$myobj);
  SmartyValidate::register_criteria('isPass', 'myobj->test_password');             
  SmartyValidate::register_validator('validator_id_passwordfield', 'form_input_password', 'isPass', false, false, 'trim');
  $smarty->display('form.tpl');
}
else
{   
  SmartyValidate::connect($smarty);
  SmartyValidate::register_object('myobj',$myobj);
  if(SmartyValidate::is_valid($_POST))
  {
    SmartyValidate::disconnect();
    $smarty->display('success.tpl');
  }
  else
  {
    $smarty->assign($_POST);
    $smarty->display('form.tpl');
  }
}

?>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cycler
Smarty Rookie


Joined: 21 Jul 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK thanks! Glad I asked, i could never have figured that out by myself Smile

Technically I could have expected this but on a logic level it is kind of confusing. Especially because the other assigns are not redone on POST.

Maybe it is a good idea to add this code example to the documentation? I know I would have liked to see it when I started out this week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cycler wrote:
OK thanks! Glad I asked, i could never have figured that out by myself Smile

Technically I could have expected this but on a logic level it is kind of confusing. Especially because the other assigns are not redone on POST.

Maybe it is a good idea to add this code example to the documentation? I know I would have liked to see it when I started out this week.


Yeah, the documentation needs to address this specific case clearer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 17 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP