Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

SmartyPaginate and $_GET/$_POST/$_REQUEST Variables

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rhutchison
Smarty n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:15 am    Post subject: SmartyPaginate and $_GET/$_POST/$_REQUEST Variables Reply with quote

Monte,

I would first like to start off by saying great effort on SmartyPaginate. While setting up SmartyPaginate myself, I had a hard time trying to figure out how to pass php values as I paginate through my results. I browsed the forum and looked through the README about 50 times and am still stuck. This maybe because it isn't possible yet, or I have just overlooked it. Anyhow what I am trying to do, and what it seems like others are trying to do, is pass some values through the url.

Example:
I am looking through a database full of names, and I would like to find all the results with the name 'Ryan'.

i.e. http://www.namedb.com/?name=Ryan
"SELECT * FROM names WHERE firstname='Ryan' LIMIT 0,10"

The first page displays my results without a problem. However if I click on another page or the {pagination_next} my URL will look as follows:

i.e. http://www.namedb.com/?next=11
"SELECT * FROM names WHERE firstname='' LIMIT 11,21"

Is there currently a way to pass my criteria in the url? If not currently, is there something in the works to allow this? It seems like everyone who has posted on the forum is clueless when it comes to doing something like this.

Any response would be appreciated.
_________________
Ryan Hutchison
CEO
Gym Solutions, LLC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
mohrt
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 7368
Location: Lincoln Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need your base URL to include the name=Ryan part.

SmartyPaginate::setUrl('http://www.namedb.com/?name=Ryan');

That only needs to be done once, not every invocation. You could also keep your query/params in a session. That would be the duty of your application though, not SmartyPaginate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Add-ons All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP