Smarty Forum Index Smarty
The discussions here are for Smarty, a template engine for the PHP programming language.

Smarty code in variable to execute?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mcgee009
Smarty n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2020 2:32 am    Post subject: Smarty code in variable to execute? Reply with quote

I am trying to build a CMS and have the content have smarty code and display like include at a certain spot how can this be done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bsmither
Smarty Elite


Joined: 20 Dec 2011
Posts: 294
Location: West Coast

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2020 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are wanting to have a value destined for a Smarty variable to have Smarty code in it and have that code parsed by Smarty before assigning it to the variable.

Code:
$rendered_post_content = $Smarty']->fetch('string:' . $post_content);
$Smarty->assign('POST', $rendered_post_content);

Note that all variables used in the post content need to already be known to Smarty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcgee009
Smarty n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 10:44 pm    Post subject: Resolved Reply with quote

Found away to do it with the help of knowing that $smarty-fetch('string'.$content); will work I can't share this knowledge due to it will be encoded later on for my CMS.

bsmither wrote:
You are wanting to have a value destined for a Smarty variable to have Smarty code in it and have that code parsed by Smarty before assigning it to the variable.

Code:
$rendered_post_content = $Smarty']->fetch('string:' . $post_content);
$Smarty->assign('POST', $rendered_post_content);

Note that all variables used in the post content need to already be known to Smarty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnrDaemon
Administrator


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 1682

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure the code run this way is not coming from user input.

Quote:
I can't share this knowledge due

Thanks, I laughed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcgee009
Smarty n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2020 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnrDaemon wrote:
Make sure the code run this way is not coming from user input.

Quote:
I can't share this knowledge due

Thanks, I laughed.


Actually this is coming from the back end with custom page function and I actually want them to be able to include templates and what not so they don't have to go edit a template each time and it will only work for custom pages. Everything else will require them to edit a template.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnrDaemon
Administrator


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 1682

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2021 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Again, if users can edit a template, they can insert literally anything into it. Any PHP code with very few restrictions.

Do not allow template editing, if you can avoid it. If you can not - use SmartySecurity class, but it is still not very good idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP