Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Suggestions for un-rolling recursive template calls

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:38 pm    Post subject: Suggestions for un-rolling recursive template calls Reply with quote

Anyone have a suggestion on how I can avoid a recursion?

I currently have a template that accepts an hierarchical data structure. The template tracks the level and for each level, outputs results Smile. If it detects a sub-level, it opens a loop for the sub-level and within the loop, {include}s the same template again (itself), passing in an incremented level and the sub-level's data structure. With caching (smarty and PHP) the performance is usable, but still not great.

I want to avoid this recursion, but I can't think how to unroll the loop in smarty (since there is no while block). Should I just encase the loop in {php} blocks while code? It looks like an ugly hack and I haven't even tried that yet.

I don't want to change how the data is delivered to the template--if possible, I want to keep the hierarchical, self-repeating structure.

edited
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think this cannot be unrolled with smarty's built in loops.

if you don't have problems with a non-stable version,
use cvs's repeatable block-functions for this. it was made
for just that Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
boots
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 5611
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I was thinking along those lines.

This is meant for a production site, so I didn't want to rely on the CVS code. I guess someone has to test it out though, huh?

I'll try it out, but I'm still interested to hear what others would do. The way I have my loop setup, "all" I really need to do is reassign the data portion of the loop while signalling the control of the loop to reevaluate its context based on the new data (ie. reset the loop with new data from within the loop).

Conceptually similar to reassigning the loop index from within the loop. (YES, against CS principles, but shhh don't tell!) Which gives me an idea...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messju
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 3336
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay. i don't know when there will be a stable release that contains the repeat-stuff.

(but if you want to try, i'll help, if you have questions Smile)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP