Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

using foreach without repeating fields

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Smarty Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lsantos2000
Smarty n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:03 pm    Post subject: using foreach without repeating fields Reply with quote

I have a variable $itemList wihic is an array of 3 elements each row

i.e.

category, role , name

cat1, role1, name1
cat1, role1, name2
cat1, role2, name3
cat2, role1, name1
cat3, role1, name2

and I want to print

category[1]
role[1] (name[1], name[2],... name[i])
role[2] (name[1], name[2],... name[i])
category[2]
role[1] (name[1], name[2],... name[i])
role[2] (name[1], name[2],... name[i])
.
.
.
category[i]
role[1] (name[1], name[2],... name[i])
role[2] (name[1], name[2],... name[i])

how to do this using foreach without repeating the categories ??

how could I concatenate the names?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lsantos2000
Smarty n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:40 pm    Post subject: More info about my request Reply with quote

>
> Hi,
>
> I have this array $itemList with 3 elements
>
> category, role, name
>
> ordered by category, role, name
>
> I want to display by the folllowing groups
>
> category
> rolesUnderCategory namesUnderRole
>
> So only one category at a time, list of roles under that category and concatenate names on that role
>
> This is all I am getting:
> ____________________________________
> Photography
>
> Invited to Quote John Dean
>
> Photography
>
> Invited to Quote Leonardo Santos-Macias (Purchaser)
>
> Photography
>
> Invited to Quote Peter MacCain
>
> Print
>
> Invited to Quote John Dean
>
> Print
>
> Invited to Quote Leonardo Santos-Macias (Purchaser)
>
> Print
>
> Invited to Quote Peter MacCain
> _______________________________
>
> To get the above, I am using:
>
> {foreach name=itemList item=element from=$itemList}
> <tr width="100%" class="td_header">
> <td colspan="5">{$element.itemCategory}</td>
> </tr>
> <tr width="100%">
> <td colspan="2">{$element.itemRole}</td>
> <td colspan="3">{$element.itemName}</td>
> </td>
> <tr>
> {/foreach}
>
> BUT I don;t get any groupings since my foreach doesn't know about groupings
>
> I would like to get:
> ___________________
>
> Photography
>
> Invited to Quote John Dean, Leonardo Santos-Macias (Purchaser),Peter MacCain
> Other role Name1, Name2
>
> Print
>
> Invited to Quote John Dean, Leonardo Santos-Macias (Purchaser),Peter MacCain
> Other role Name1, Name2
>
> Other category
> A role Name1, Name2
> ____________________________
>
> Is there a way to do a foreach DISTINCT element?

> or how would you do this?

> I appreciate your help in advance
>
> Thanks
>
> Leonardo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lsantos2000
Smarty n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:48 pm    Post subject: posting reply from messju (thanks to him, got email) Reply with quote

> Is there a way to do a foreach DISTINCT element?

not really.

> or how would you do this?

i wouldn't use a two-dimensional array (each row has 3 columns) as you do, but
i would setup a 3-dimensional array like:

for each categorie,role,name you have do:
$list[$categorie][$role][$i] = $name (with $i going from 0..n-1)


then you can nest your loops:

{foreach from=$list key=categorie item=roles}
{$categorie}
{foreach from=$roles key=role item=names}
{$role}: {$names|@implode:", "} {* or with a third foreach *}
{/foreach}
{/foreach}


it's much easier in php to prepare the array that way for smarty, than
trying to implement a "distinc-logic" inside the template.

HTH
messju
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colynb
Smarty n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Is there a way to do a foreach DISTINCT element? Reply with quote

I created a function that will do EXACTLY what you're looking for. I had a similar development problem a few months ago.

Code:

// returns a true or false
function isFirst($field)
{
   global $prev;
   
   if ($field !== $prev) {
      
      $GLOBALS['prev'] = $field;
      
      return true;
   
   } else {

      return false;
   
   }

}

// Implement it like this:

{if isFirst($myCategory)}
    <h2>{$myCategory}</h2>
{/if}
  .... rest of your code


It works for me, so try it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> Smarty Development All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP